>Guglie..whattie!

>I have been pondering this situation for the past week or so and was really thinking about it today. I had a long drive and was listening to some praise songs..The song “Healer” came on… I started singing along as I usually do. It made me start thinking.
Worship songs are amazing sometimes. God has blessed people with gifts and talents to write amazing songs, with great melodies. Musicians that can just make music come alive with their creativity and self expression. I know that I am guilty at times of just liking a song. Yea it talks about God and I think that makes it even better, because you are talking about How great God is and having fun doing it. Some songs make you want to dance and others make you want to ponder who he is. The fact is at the end of the song.. God is still there, We may not know it, but he is. Sometimes us christian people think that when a song starts God is there. When in fact he is with us always. Just to think that he was there when I said… or I thought… or I did… We can all fill in those blanks i ‘m sure. The writer of the song “Healer” decided to fake being sick and even dying! As someone who has experienced A loved struggle with disease, It is detestable to even fathom how someone could do such a thing. And go to such great lengths to do it. At first I was angry at the fact that I bought into a lie. Then I was sad for his family, Now I have to come to forgiveness. God forgave me when I was still a sinner. That doesn’t mean I’m not a sinner now, It just means God is way too good to me.
No one deserves to take the place of God. Sometimes I see the writers of these amazing songs and think wow, what an incredible person to be able to do that. To do What? Use the gift God has given. We are all sinners. I don’t say that as a cop out. Micheal Guglielmucci just had to step up and do something we all should have the courage to do. Confess his sin. Yes it affected many, and that is why no one should come before God. No matter who it is that we look up to, they will never live up to the standards that God does! They will always let us down, just as we will let others down. But we press on towards the goal
So does that make the song any less true to me? When he wrote the song, did he believe God is his Healer, of perhaps a different disease than we thought at first. I’ll never know that. But I will know that God will never leave me and never forsake me. He is with me always even to the end of the age.
Perhaps there is something to be learned from all of this after all…Proverbs28:13
“He who conceals his sin does not prosper, but whoever confesses and renounces them, finds mercy.”
He could have gone any other way, maybe even claiming to be healed, Who wouldn’t have believed that, I am sure any doctor would have agreed that there was nothing wrong! But he chose the route that led to mercy, and although he did a horrendous thing in making up the story, Maybe he did the right thing by confessing, after all who am i to judge.

Leave a Reply

