>Remembrance..

>I don’t know how to start…  How about with this morning,

I woke up got out of bed, went to work, Did my job! of course.  Then I came home and spent time with Allie, Went to dinner with the fam and laughed a lot. It all sounds pretty normal, I guess that’s my point… Two years ago today My wife, Rachael, died… I spent that day the same as any other day, I woke up went to work, did my Job! of course! came home made Rachael and I dinner, went to church, came home and went to bed, Only this is where the similarities end, That night didn’t end well, In fact it was the worst night of my life.  Needless to say that was a night I didn’t sleep at all. I went through the whole day never once thinking about what and/or WHO wouldn’t be there when I woke up. I remember standing there in the hospital when the Doctor told me that it wasn’t looking good.  I was mostly just thinking everything would be fine. She had always bounced back before and this time it would be no different. That’s when reality hit and I knew this time was in fact much different.  I didn’t know what to do, Should I be upset?, What should I?? ……..   I did the first thing I knew… I called my brother and said that I was at the hospital and he was on his way before I hung up.  It wasn’t until I said it all out loud to  him that it all hit me and as you can imagine I was instantly a wreck.  Not long after he showed up she was gone. forever. 
  What started the same as any other day ended like none other.  I now had the task of calling her parents and siblings as well as my own.  Their seemingly normal days were about to be destroyed as well.   I remember staring at the phone thinking “How can i make this call to her Mom”  But I had to do it. The rest is as you can imagine. Or probably don’t even want to…
  This has been a week of remembrance for me.  
1.  This Easter- remembering the death of Christ and his amazing love for me to take my shame and call it his own so I can have Life with him. 
2. Last Easter- remembering Meeting, enjoying friendship with, and eventually falling in love with An amazing woman, Alyssa, and experiencing restoration, which all began last Easter.(Alright Ill admit I pretty much loved her from the start)
3 Last Last Easter- 2 weeks before Rachael passed, We all celebrated Easter together Her family came in to town and my family that was in town all spent the day together and it was the happiest she had been in a long time. It was great to see her that happy, Oxygen tubes and all (We went to take what would be Our last Pic together and she was like wait I need to take the oxygen off -that makes me laugh.)  
  I am glad I got to spend time with my family today, It’s great to still have people around me that love me and that i love, And I even got to spend some time with Alyssa, Even though she was super busy.  What a incredible blessing she is to me. I am truly blessed to have such great people in my life. I hope that I don’t wake up everyday and forget to tell the people that I love that they matter to me, and that I don’t forget how fragile life is. Because everything tragic thing that we face always begins on a seemingly normal day. 
Leave a Reply

