>Daytime of the Night…

>What was it that I did? Well I passed by and said nothing. What was it that stopped me in my tracks? The truth is that it didn’t really phase me. Who was it that made me think I was okay? I think the fact that I am okay. Okay well You would think that if you saw me. I look pretty normal. What is Normal anyway and who was it that set this standard of normalcy. Do I look different? Not because I intentionally try to run against the crowd so I can be a trend setter. And not because I hate what You tell me to be (Although sometimes I do). Do I stand out because You see something in me. I could only hope so.
I realize that as i run toward Holiness I have found myself unintentionally running away from the world. The hype and the buzz no longer stir me. I can remember a time when the thing I longed for most was to see the next episode of whatever or to hear about the latest – fill in your blank here- Yep that was me living for things that are temporary. I found over the past year I have desired to be closer to God. My pursuit came to life. I didn’t figure out a way to go to church more or try better to do the things that everyone knows “church People” are supposed to do. I instead tried to find out more about the God I serve. He is the creator of everything. I believe that with all my heart. Not only that but someone so awesome and so powerful wants to be with me. He actually wants me to have relationship with him. He desires it. He doesn’t just want to tell me what to do.
As I look at my journey I see an entirely different person standing here now and I know I have so much further to go. God is so awesome. I am literally in awe of him. I am finding that as I run after him I am leaving behind things that used to be important to me. I just don’t care about them anymore. . Suddenly the things that are important to me are more selfless. How can I be a light that God wants me to be? If it means I have to give more up I will welcome it. What does it really matter in this life anyway. I know it wont always be easy. The things I see as a sacrifice today are really nothing compared true sacrifice. Now why do I Ask what i did?
I rode my bike the other day and saw a group of kids hanging out in the park. I thought something that I really haven’t thought much about. What are they going through? Where are there hearts? They are important to God and should be important to me. After I passed by I wondered Why I didn’t have the courage to go over and tell them about the hope that I have inside. What good is a light hid under a bush. What good is all of this pursuit If I never do anything with it. My own Feelings meant more to me at that time than the eternal life of people that Jesus loved and gave his life for. As you can see I am not the best at all of this I have so much more to learn but God is always teaching me in every situation. In all the things that I read about in the Bible. And in the Godly people he has surrounded me with like P. Jay, Felix, and Ricardo. I remember thinking what would Felix(My friend) have done, He would have more courage, Lord thanks for surrounding me with people that encourage me and challenge me to be more like You.
I believe God has a purpose and the people I meet and we all meet are around us for a reason. Either to encourage us or for us to encourage them.

Be the light.

1 Peter 4:2-3 You won’t spend the rest of your lives chasing your own desires, but you will be anxious to do the will of God. You have had enough in the past of the evil things that godless people enjoy-Their immorality and lust, Their feasting and drunkenness and wild parties, and their terrible worship of idols.

1 Peter 3: 15 Instead worship Christ as Lord of Your life. And if someone asks about your christian hope, always be ready to explain it.

1 Peter 2:11-12 Dear friends, I warn You as “temporary residents and foreigners” to keep away from worldly desires that wage war against your very souls. Be careful to live properly among the unbelieving neighbors, Then even if they accuse You of doing wrong, They will see your honorable behavior, and they will give honor to God when he judges the world.

1 Peter 1:14-15 So You must live as God’s obedient children. Don’t slip back into your old ways of living to satisfy your own desires. You didn’t know any better then. But now you must be holy in everything you do, Just as God who chose you is holy. For the scriptures say “Be Holy, For I am Holy.”

Leave a Reply

