>oops wrong Exit…

>

Proverbs 4:25-27
25 Look straight ahead, and fix your eyes on what lies before you. 26 Mark out a straight path for your feet; then stick to the path and stay safe. 27 Don’t get sidetracked; keep your feet from following evil.
Don’t get sidetracked. What great advice. I am a person who starts wholeheartedly on a project. I have every great intention to finish. I have excitement for the end result. But the middle is what trips me up. After the strong start the newness starts to fade. The excitement wears off and I come to the realization of what i have left. The WORK. Now I am no stranger to hard work. I enjoy going out and working and the sense of accomplishment you get at the end of the day. But what happens in life is I lose sight of the path.I had my heart so set on the goal that I gave up on the race. I have at times decided to run. I would then start and when…
i began the goal was so far away I would look a short distance ahead and set a smaller goal. Then when I arrived I set a new goal. I never started the race and said okay 2 more miles…1.99…1.98. I would look for a rock and say okay I’m almost to the rock. Maybe this is why relating our service to God as a race works so well. In the verse above it says to fix my eyes on what is before me.
In Life my goals either needed to be instantaneous or nonexistence. If I couldn’t have the end result now, then it wasn’t worth it. Can I just say one thing, That is foolishness. Any thing in life WORTH going after takes work. It takes determination. I think that is why my ministry as a worship leader and leader in general has lacked. I lost sight of the path that is before me. I wanted the end result now and when i didnt see it started getting sidetracked. I wanted to find my own ways to make my results happen now. I wanted myself and my team to be somewhere they couldn’t be without discipleship. I had a great moment the other day. I was playing through the sunday song set and was playing it the way I like, and the way I knew how. At that moment it didn’t bother me that I wasn’t playing the way I had seen certain people play. I was just expressing who God created me to be and giving it back to him. It made a huge difference for me come sunday morning. God never asked me to be someone else. That was my sidetracked way of hitting a mark that God never intended for me to hit. He has a special purpose for me different from any other person. But I have to stay where He wants me to be and follow the path He has for me. …… stick to the path, Don’t give up

Leave a Reply

