>Praise what?

>Prov 27:21 Fire tests the purity of silver and gold, 

but a person is tested by being praised.NLT
Prov 20:27 The Lord’s light penetrates the human spirit, exposing every hidden motive.
You have to love proverbs. It puts it right out there. Sometimes it even calls you a fool, or worse than a fool (I didn’t know that was possible), prideful. I am blessed to be a part of and serve in the ministry of worship. It even sounds funny to say. God says to offer ourselves as worship to him. How can I oversee that ministry? Okay so to be honest…

I get to sing songs. It’s something that in our society is itself, worshipped. There is an entire industry created to make “idols”. Have you ever really thought about that? Sure the shows name is a play on the fact that the people can create something out of nothing. I am not saying that there is no talent involved (in most cases). I am saying, that is what an idol is… nothing. You can read in Isaiah 44 about the foolishness of idols. Of course we don’t have blocks of wood to worship. Society is far too advanced for that (Maybe plastic boxes with circuitry inside). The idols we have now are hidden, right in front of us. I can say that I don’t look at things in my life and thank them for saving me. I don’t “praise” it, out loud. But honestly, what really truly brings me joy? What is it lately that has gotten my praise, my admiration? 

Is it a song I heard that helped me through a situation. Is it the way it made me feel to be in charge, that sense of power. Is it the way my actions affected someone for good or even for Christ, pride is a tough one. Is it the kind words someone told me to lift me up that I crave. Is that what brings me my joy. So often the idols that are lurking in our hearts are hidden, even to us. David was smart enough to understand this. Psalm 139:23 23 Search me, O God, and know my heart; test me and know my anxious thoughts.24 Point out anything in me that offends you, and lead me along the path of everlasting life…  
You can see that even in Prov 20:27 it’s Gods light that can expose these hidden things in our lives. We can’t do it, it’s not self enlightenment. What’s my motive behind the things I do, even for God? It should be Him, His glory, His kingdom, His children restored. Is it?… Like David that should be my prayer. But to be in His Light I have to be where He is. I have to do what He does. In other words I have to know his ways, revealed to me through the word, and allow Him to speak to me. But most important I HAVE to listen when He speaks and I HAVE to act. My action is proof of my transformation. My inaction is proof that I don’t trust him, Don’t believe Him, or just plain don’t care… God reveal those idols in our hearts today, so we can be Your servants and our hearts and lips will praise You and You alone, in everything we say,sing, and in every action.


Leave a Reply

