Mini Mind trickery

I was just telling Alyssa a couple days ago about my mini goals. It’s something that I have learned to do over the past year. Why? The answer is simple. Because I have to do it to survive. haha. No, but seriously, sometimes that is definitely how I feel. Life is crazy, It goes by so fast. I am 30 years old and when I was young…er I thought people in their 30’s were old. I was just sitting and reflecting on the fact that when I was born, my parents were even younger than I am now. Okay now that will blow your mind. Anyway, No matter who you are life gets super busy. In my case, I either have a million things I need to get done yesterday, or I give myself a million things that I need to finish yesterday. So I started setting mini goals. The last…
couple weeks have been very busy. I have school,work,church,family. You get the idea, or I should say rather, You know the feeling. So what I do is I set myself a goal. This was my most recent life altering goal. “Life will be wonderful once Thursday night class is over, just keep chugging away until then.” I know what your thinking, it’s not even really a goal. Your right, but in my mind it works. The fact is that after that class is over, I will still have a ton more things to do. But for just a moment I can sit back and enjoy the fact that, I made it! I did what I set out to do. I accomplished something that I put my mind to. Then I look up and somethings broke that I need to fix. Refreshing isn’t it. haha.

Maybe you think I am crazy, Maybe you think I’m a genius (hey,thanks), The truth is we all have long term goals and they seem so far away that they will never happen. In that kind of thinking it’s easy to throw in the towel and give up. So I set a smaller one so I have a sense of accomplishment now. Maybe I’m just tricking my brain, I don’t know. What I do know is it helps me to look back and see all that I have accomplished, no matter how small and minuscule it may have been. And it gives that extra boost to keep going. So what have you accomplished lately. Me, I wired an elecrtical cabinet at work. The whole project isn’t done yet, not even really close. But I finished the cabinet. Ahh, that feels good. Mini good, But good, really good.

2 thoughts on “Mini Mind trickery

  1. >Yeah I think mini goals are good, and big goals are great too. Actually I think we all do this a lot more than we pay attention to. For example, when we were driving in the car yesterday, James and I played the alphabet game, so it was my mini goal to win that game, and big goal to get home…and it took my mind off the endless miles between!-without neglecting my bigger goal bc like you talked about in ops Wrong exit… the most important part is not losing sight and getting sidetracked from the ultimate goal.

Leave a Reply

