old T-shirt, new perspective…

I have in my closet some older clothing. It is not so old that you could take it out and think “Why did I ever wear this?”. Those outfits are long gone (thank God!). Just recently I told Alyssa about an old shirt I own. How I got it and the whole story. It wasn’t anything special, But I still remember it and all because I can still hold it in my hands. Its funny how things in life bring you right back to a specific moment in time. It makes me wonder, “If I didn’t still own that shirt, Would I ever remember that day when I bought it?” Not likely, It would be just another day that fell into the landscape of the past. A Mixture of memories flung together with all those fleeting moments, most likely never to be thought of again. In fact I can say with confidence that there was nothing noteable that would ever make me think of that day, except that I still own that shirt…

I am by nature a forgetful person… Just today, I stood up and walked into the other room to get my computer. As I walked back I wondered to myself “why did I even walk back there?” Thats me!(yea i don’t know how I function either) Needless to say I am not alone. There must be so many all around the world that are just like me. We all at some point need to be reminded about things. Who would know this better than God? After-all he designed us this way. I came across this in my reading recently and it really made me think.
Numbers 15:37 God spoke to Moses:38 “Speak to the People of Israel. Tell them that from now on they are to make tassels on the corners of their garments and to mark each corner tassel with a blue thread.39 When you look at these tassels you’ll remember and keep all the commandments of God, and not get distracted by everything you feel or see that seduces you into infidelities.40 The tassels will signal remembrance and observance of all my commandments, to live a holy life to God.

So I ran out right away and started sewing tassels to all my clothing… No I didn’t (or did I).
 It stopped me because God knows me so well. He knows that I will forget how great He is and has been to me. As I live my life there will be moments that I will never want to take for granted… but I will. There will be situations that will tear me off the path He has for me. There will be times when I think I am all alone and there is no hope. What will I do in those situations? Remember!
 I think its great that God blatantly says it right here. “Hey Moses, They are going to forget, I know it, so make them walk around with silly tassels. Then when someone asks or they ask themselves why their clothes look ridiculous. They can say, it’s so I don’t forget.” Maybe this was the thinking behind the good old WWJD(We Want Jury Duty) bracelet. So what do I do to remind me to live a Holy life? I don’t think I have anything as ridiculous as a tassel or bracelet. But it helps me to realize if I don’t put it front and center it could end up in the back room, hidden behind an old workout machine(thats right hide those too so you be guilted into using them). These words are as true to me today as they were then to the Israelites. I’m probably going to forget, so Tassel me up (no not literally)… What is your tassel?
Leave a Reply

