It’s a small group after all…

2 Cor 13:11  11 Dear brothers and sisters, I close my letter with these last words: Be joyful. Grow to maturity. Encourage each other. Live in harmony and peace. Then the God of love and peace will be with you.
  Everyone likes to be encouraged. It is always great when you get that note of encouragement or word of encouragement. Sometimes it comes at exactly the right moment when you need it. At other times it is more of a challenge that keeps you going. I can remember moments in my life when I got just the right thing that God was telling me and it came through the words of someone else…I think it is something that we often overlook as believers. We are supposed to lift others up that are around us. I have had the opportunity to see this truth lived out. In my life I have had leaders that encouraged me and still do and at the same time challenge me. As someone who has grown and is still growing, I have the opportunity to lift others up as well. I had one of those moments last night. I felt that I needed to talk to a friend and encourage him. As I sat there it became more apparent that God wanted me to talk to him. It is awesome to get the chance to speak into somebody’s life. I also got the chance to challenge him in an area he was having a hard time with. It is just another reason that I love our small group. I would never have got to know my small group peeps just by going to church. It lends itself to the opportunity to get to know each other and to encourage and build each other up.
It challenges me in so many ways.
Who have you got the opportunity to build up in their faith?
Maybe you know someone right now that you can encourage… do it!
If you can’t think of anyone then it’s time to find someone…
Col 3:16 Let the word of Christ dwell in you richly; in all wisdom teaching and admonishing one another with psalms and hymns
Leave a Reply

