New customers only…

please wait for the next available...

Why is it that the “new” customer gets all the great deals. You know exactly what i mean, when you first sign up for something you get the greatest deal, the cheapest price, and the best equipment. Unfortunately that is where it ends. At that point they got ya. They no longer need to court you. They know that it is a hassle to cancel service, get a new deal somewhere else and pay sign up fees that you already paid in the past. Not to mention you are continually reminded that you are paying more because you see the new customer prices everywhere. You can call and get the “I am sorry sir that pricing is for new customers only” speech if you want. But it will only fuel your anger. Basically the honeymoon is over…

I think in life we can get caught up in this same dangerous pattern. I work hard at first and do anything and everything I can to get my foot in the door and then once I am there I get lazy, complacent and apathetic. Take For instance my relationship with my  wife. When i first met her I put my best effort into our relationship. I would do anything to be with her and talk to her and let her know she is the “bomb”…(well she is)… But what happens is after time she is still there but I am no longer treating her like she is my queen. I already did the work to get her and now I am good. But the truth is I need to continue to give her my best. Also when I do this she is always my new customer, she always gets my best, and she knows she is valued and I am not looking for other customers. Wow there is so much there…

When I look at my relationship with God I have to ask myself. Have I become complacent? The price I paid to have a creator who loves me was, well… nothing. He is always there when I need him and He will never give up on me. Imagine if God was like the phone company. Once he got me on board he forgot about me and treated me like I didn’t matter. That is not the God I serve. The God I serve loves me and proved it through Jesus. God is always looking for new customers and at the same time reaching out to the ones He already has. I don’t have to worry about getting a bad deal. Everyone gets the same deal and its free to everyone. It doesn’t matter how early or late you decide to sign up. It’s good to know that I don’t have to worry about paying for this service. I doubt I could ever do enough to deserve it. The hope of Jesus is free and I don’t have to wait on hold and hope to get to the right person that can get me the best customer service. God’s word promises that he is listening if you believe.

You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart.
Leave a Reply

