Losers…

I am a fan of sports. I enjoy playing them more than watching, but I can get into them at times. Growing up I watched the Detroit Pistons most of the time. My favorite was Vinny Johnson of the Bad Boys era. Better known as “The Microwave”. I played basketball, soccer(the best sport in the world), and roller hockey all the time. Now I enjoy the pick up game here and there.

When I was younger I played on a soccer team for 6 years. One thing I learned through that experience is that when you play team sports it can be an emotional experience.  You experience the excitement of helping your team by stopping that shot or scoring that winning goal. Unfortunately we don’t always win and at times have to learn to endure the heartbreak of defeat. You invest your whole heart into it, so naturally it affects you when it does and doesn’t work out.

It is such an important lesson in life and I am glad I had the chance to go through it. Here are some valuable lessons I learned from my time playing team sports.

  • I learned how to work as team. There is No I in team.
  • I learned how to encourage others both through words and through work ethic.
  • I learned how to Win and Lose graciously.

I remember one game in particular and it was the last game of the season. We had a losing record, In fact we hadn’t won a single game. We were the smallest and youngest in the league. Even despite our disadvantage we never gave up. This was our last chance. We went into it with fortitude. We walked on the field and laid our heart down, knowing we would walk away with our hearts bruised and trampled if it didn’t work out. We worked our tails off, even until the last whistle blew. I remember standing there after the game, defeated, a group of 9 or 10 guys all holding our heads down. Our Coach gave us a speech about how we deserved a win after the effort he saw us put forth. Most of us were fighting back the tears, anger, and frustration. I remember it vividly even now. I was 11 or 12 years old. I think we all learned an important lesson that day. Sometimes you can do everything right; work hard, never give up, put everything on the line. And still it doesn’t always work out for you.

Sure I can hear ya, I know it was just a game. In life sometimes you can do everything right and still end up losing. I think we have to learn how to deal with failure just as much as success. Sometimes we are the weakest and youngest person(s) for the job. Does it mean that we shouldn’t try? Does it mean we should give up because we feel like we know the end result? Absolutely not. Failing teaches us just as valuable a lesson as winning. It teaches us perseverance-steady persistence in a course of action, a purpose, a state,etc., especially in spite of difficulties, obstacles, or discouragement. The Bible even tells us that God uses the weak and it is for His glory.

What are the difficulties you are facing right now? Are you ready to give up? Sometimes these obstacles are put there to build our character. To instill in us a never quit attitude. And oh how much sweeter the taste of success is when you know battle you had to overcome to get there.

One thought on “Losers…

  1. Whenever trouble comes your way, let it be an opportunity for joy. For when your faith is tested, your endurance has a chance to grow. So let it grow for when your endurance is fully devoloped you will be strong in character and ready for anything. James 1:2-4

Leave a Reply

