Amateurs

How good is good enough? If you are anything like me, then this is probably a question you have asked yourself a few times. I highly doubt I could manage an appropriate answer. I can however, look at what is going on behind the question.

My First Guitar!!

I have on occasion taught guitar to beginners. Whenever I teach I try to remember exactly how I felt at that moment when I was learning. (it also helps to drown out the noise)
  • The discomfort of the fingerings-How do people manage to do this and do it well. I didn’t think it would ever be possible.
  • The pain of pushing hard into the strings- Are my fingers supposed to hurt this bad all the time.
  • The frustration of my guitar sounding more like a lunatic bird on crack then the beautiful melodious instrument it should have been. I thought i would never learn to strum.
One thing I always tell my students is this. You are going to hate the learning process, and inevitably at some point you will want to give up. Don’t give up and don’t give in. Put your guitar aside count to ten then scream as loudly as you can. Then keep going.
We all at one time or another give up on something because we don’t think we are good enough.
What we fail to realize is the “Experts” didn’t start out as an expert. Just like us, at some point in their life, they were the amateur…
With anything in life you have to sit down and make a decision to do what it takes to master your craft. And this may come as a shock but… It does not happen overnight.
  • You have to train– Even the experts still have to train. Those that fail in training will eventually lose their edge. Much like a knife, if you don’t sharpen it often it gets dull and is less usefull in its intent. Although it is still a knife.
  • You have to be dedicated– Sometimes in life you can get by without much effort, if your one of the lucky. Unfortunately almost anything in life worth going after takes determination. Once you determine the worth, you must be dedicated to seeing it through.
  • You have to fail– We can sit back and learn only so much by watching. Eventually you have to put yourself out there. And when you do, it is almost guaranteed that at some point you will fall flat on your face. Take it as an opportunity to learn and move on. If you want to succeed you have to learn to face the good and the bad.

Instead of looking at those that have mastered “it” as a reason to quit, look at their success as a goal you hope to attain and learn from them.  And instead of looking at how far you have to go, just look at how far you have come. We all have to start somewhere… We are all Amateurs

One thought on “Amateurs

  1. I love that you said “instead of looking at how far you have to go, look at how far you’ve come” that is good motto to live by. Thanks for always reminding me that even in my daily tasks not to think of all that I need to get done but just start somewhere!

Leave a Reply

