I Love IT, I Hate it

Today I was sitting back and thinking a little bit about the things I love, really the things we all love.

It is so true that we find the time for the things we love. Some things are just easy to love. They can be rewarding, entertaining, fun, they take no amount of effort on my part whatsoever. But the problem is, what if the thing I love isn’t fun, it’s draining. It is for lack of a better word… Work.

Here is A shot form my work!

We all know work. Work is what we call that thing we do while we are waiting to do what we really want. Sure, You may be the lucky one that enjoys your job. But the bottom line is, it is still work. You HAVE to do it. I know that there are times that I love what I do.

I walked into my workplace a few days ago and things were awry. After two hours I had solved a good majority of the problems and things were back up and running. It felt good, it was rewarding to accomplish those tasks that no one else there could.

Then  there are those days that I wake up and can’t  even stand the idea of having to walk into that building again. I am sure that you can relate right!

I feel the same way at times about about living for Jesus. There are times that I can barely sleep I am so excited about the things He is revealing and then there are times that I can’t remember the last time I thought about Him.

Why did I think this whole Living for Christ gig  would be different. I like many others believed that once I said the prayer and experienced truth I was good. I failed to realize that this was going to take some effort, some real effort. The truth is sometimes it feels like work… because it is.

God loves me too much to let me stay the same… selfish, unthoughtful, lacking compassion… just to name a few. I actually have to work to change into who He wants me to be. I have to know the way that Jesus would want me to act. Which only means I have to study his word and learn. Wow this is sounding like work…

Nothing in life worth getting has ever been done without hard work and perseverance. The lazy ones aren’t the ones that succeed, and the same is true in Christ. You can’t serve God if you aren’t willing to get off your butt and go! Go serve, Go Learn, Go Love!

Or just sit there and wonder why God isn’t speaking to you, Isn’t moving in your life, and doesn’t seem to be there at all. Just remember you get out of it what you put in. If You put in 2 hours a week, well… Many times in life, the race isn’t about the 5 minutes your out there, it’s about the five years you trained to get you there…   Let’s be more like Paul…

I Cor 9:24 Do you not know that all the runners in a stadium compete, but only one receives the prize? So run to win.

25 Each competitor must exercise self-control in everything. They do it to receive a perishable crown, but we an imperishable one.
26 So I do not run uncertainly or box like one who hits only air.

27 Instead I subdue my body and make it my slave, so that after preaching to others I myself will not be disqualified.

2 thoughts on “I Love IT, I Hate it

  1. “…Many times in life, the race isn’t about the 5 minutes your out there, it’s about the five years you trained to get you there…” Good stuff Raulie! Living for Christ is something we have to put effort into at all times! Sometimes we’ll hit our limits for a few minutes or for the day, but we’ll need to ask God to help us, because we’re only human, AND He’s God. For example: We can try goin’ to church with the mindset of loving people, but we ultimately need God to help us love people.

    Miss ya man. Can’t wait to look forward to what you post next!

  2. Good post! You know I am all about work! This is totally where I am right now…things need to be done and I need to change. God’s been waiting on me too long, time to step it up! Makes me think of that Pastor Jay quote…To be in step with God you have to be willing to take the next step.

    and that involves work!

    and BEN YOURE ALIVE! Good to hear your voice -well your words in my voice reading. Haha hope all is well bro. 🙂

Leave a Reply

