Search my Heart

I have been listening to the album Aftermath by Hillsong United almost non-stop lately. As I was preparing and had been thinking about the set list for last weekend the song “Search my Heart” kept coming to me over and over

…Search my heart and search my soul…

“Search me, God, and know my heart; test me and know my anxious thoughts. See if there is any offensive way in me, and lead me in the way everlasting.” (Psalm 139:23-24 NIV)

photo from flickr by findingthenow

I know that this lyric comes from this verse David prayed to God

It really got me to thinking… What a dangerous prayer!

The truth is most times I am oblivious to how wicked my heart can be. The bible teaches that the heart is the most deceitful of all things. Do I really want God to reveal the things going on in my heart?

When I get down to it my intentions tell me yes! Of course I want God to reveal what I am doing wrong. The problem is that… He is going to reveal what I am doing wrong. The hidden things in my heart that I may not even realize (or do not want to realize) are there .

Its a dangerous prayer because it forces me to deal with “it” whatever it may be! It makes me accountable. Isn’t that an awesomely terrible word?

If God reveals my sin I am now forced to deal with it or continue to sin pulling myself farther away from His voice, his plan, and his purpose for my life. It comes down to our words verses our actions. I can say (or sing) that  I want God to show me my faults all day long.

Now what will I do with that knowledge?

Let it sit on the back burner until it simmers, then boils over and gives way to bigger sin and greater temptation! Or deal with it now, fall to repentance and turn from wickedness.

Do I want to? Am I ready? Does he mean enough? Does the calling to tell others mean enough? Or does my sin mean more than all of that?  Well, when it is put that way!

Will you and I have the courage to pray this prayer?
Will we have the courage to take the actions to change? And in doing so draw ourselves closer to His heart, his plan for our lives, and his purpose.

Search away!

~~Raul~~

2 thoughts on “Search my Heart

  1. Awesome and challenging post Raulie! I’d like to admit that when use to I see those verses, Psalm 139:23-24, I wouldn’t just skip over them like they don’t mean anything. But the truth is, I do skip over them because I don’t enjoy knowing what’s in my heart.

    But I’m willin to pray this prayer with you, cause ‘Heart Checks’ make progress. They show what’s goin on in your life; a progress report of your life. If we know our sins but don’t turn from it, it doesn’t help our relationship with God. I just read in C.S. Lewis today,

    “We all want progress. But progress means getting nearer to the place where you want to be. And if you have taken a wrong turning, then to go forward does not get you any nearer (To God.) If you are on the wrong road, progress means doing an about-turn (A complete change or reversal) and walking back to the right road; and in that case the man who turns back soonest is the most progressive man.” – Mere Christianity. Parentheses commentary, me.

  2. Pingback: In Depths Of My Heart « To Realize Someday…

Leave a Reply

