Happy New Plan

You know and have heard the saying,

“When you fail to plan, You plan to fail”. -unknown

You cannot really say it any simpler. There is so much truth and challenge in such a short sentence. I hear it loud and clear, without a plan I basically do not care. I can rationalize it in many ways (believe me I have). When it truly comes down to it and the rubber meats the road (what am I a car?) my rationalizations fail.  I find myself on a road not heading where I wanted to be heading and quite possibly stuck in a place I never intended to go to. 

Coincidentally(not really) it is the the dreaded time of the year to make plans. Happy New Year! Plans that are intended to put us on the course we want to be on, since most likely our last years resolutions have not made it through until now and we need to start over. Hopefully that wasn’t you (or me). Pause {Laughing}>>>

There is one area that I would like to focus on… The Word of God… i.e. the Bible.

 

Who really has a real paper Bible anymore?

Last year I started on a Bible reading plan and have for the most part been faithful to keep to it. It was a chronological year long read through. I am roughly 30 or so days away from completing it( i started in February, I know, blasphemous isnt it!). I have started to think about what I am going to do for the next year and how I can step up my game. I found this helpful list and thought I would pass it along. Check it out here.

It is full of great resources and different kinds of plans. I would challenge each of you to PLAN on doing something. Make a plan and don’t worry about failing, just commit to something. I am seriously considering doing the Grant Horners System… I haven’t decided yet.

You don’t have to pick one of these just make a plan and plan to keep it.

Don’t worry if it looks impossible or overwhelming, it might be. That is okay, what would you like to say next year( or next month for that matter). I really wanted to read the bible, but I decided NOT to even try. Wanting to do something and actually doing something are very very very different things. So stop wanting and start doing.

As for the rest of your resolutions, here is some encouragement, Feel free to come back and read theses from time to time if you like: You are GREAT, You are WOnderful, You can do it!

So what kind of plan are you planning on doing this year?

7 thoughts on “Happy New Plan

  1. That’s one of my fave quotes! Hate big crazy never gonna happen resolutions, but the new year is awesome to reevaluate how you want to live the next year. As for new reading plans, I’m doing the Eat this Book year plan on uversion. Happy new year!!

Leave a Reply

