Heart Check Go!

I prayed a very specific prayer the other day. It wasn’t a long well thought out prayer. It was short and exactly how I felt at the moment. I caught myself thinking things that are out of alignment with how I want to be. (I would say with who I am, if I truly could).

The journey

The truth I immediately had to deal with was that it wasn’t the situation that needed changed. The people involved didn’t need to change either. Yes I must admit… It was me. It is me. I knew it even then at that moment, but what I needed was the why. So I Prayed. What I prayed came to me the next day as I read through the word. Don’t you wish all prayers were answered that fast? I do!

Too often when things in other people’s lives go well, instead of being happy for what they have been blessed with, I feel other things. I know I know, I am a horrible person, or just honest. I start to think about my own life and wonder why things are the way they are. Honestly I have nothing to complain about. I know that I have all I need and more. That is not the point. The point is I don’t want to feel this way, I have no reason to feel this way.  Then as I read through the book of Galatians the very next day, God revealed the why and Rocked my world (Gotta love that). I needed it… I still need it. 

Gal 5:24 (Msg)Among those who belong to Christ, everything connected with getting our own way and mindlessly responding to what everyone else calls necessities is killed off for good-crucified.

25 Since this is the kind of life we have chosen, the life of the Spirit, let us make sure that we do not just hold it as an idea in our heads or a sentiment in our hearts, but work out its implications in every detail of our lives. 26 That means we will not compare ourselves with each other as if one of us were better and another worse. We have far more interesting things to do with our lives. Each of us is an original.

Gal 6:4 Make a careful exploration of who you are and the work you have been given, and then sink yourself into that. Don’t be impressed with yourself. Don’t compare yourself with others.5 Each of you must take responsibility for doing the creative best you can with your own life.

Thank You my God for answering the simple prayers, for showing me my faults and how to overcome them. Today I am thankful… for truth, for a God that loves me enough to answer me and heal my brokenness, For the blessings I see in my friends and families lives.

What do You need today? What simple heartfelt prayer do you need to pray? 


Leave a Reply

