Die Distractions die

Do you ever find yourself doing everything else except for the thing that you are supposed to be doing? I do, all the time. Speaking of time. When I most find myself distracted by other things, is when I have the most free time.

All those pretty distractions! Let me at 'em

I will sit down with a plan to finish some task and inevitably it always happens. I find myself two hours later wondering what happened and why I didn’t accomplish anything that I needed to.
Oh those distractions, they so easily get in the way. Usually it goes something like this. I’ll get started… but real quick let me look at this. Sometimes I just open a browser and the title page has an interesting article that sucks me in.
So I made a decision. I started with my most important task. Taking the time to do my reading. My new rule was; no media until it was done. No Internet, social media, tv or anything like it! until I did my reading first. I started a month ago and it has been awesome.
At first It was a stretch for me, not to do things the way that I normally do them. The cool thing that it did though, was place my important task in my face.  It haunted me! I could’t push it aside any longer. Not if I wanted to use my phone for anything other than… a phone. And my Tv for more than wall decor. I can honestly say now, that I have enjoyed my reading times and usually end up going beyond what i need to do. It has become something I wantto do again.

who needs 'em

Maybe you have found yourself running out of time to do what is important, then perhaps it is time for you also, to re-evaluate all the non-important things you do, and see what you can do to change them. For me I am sticking to my new rule, for now at least until I find something new to distract me!
One thought on “Die Distractions die

  1. Raulie! This is an awesome post! I’m glad you posted it cause it’s def speaking to me. I was transferring notes from my iPad to my journal but then I wanted to listen to a specific song, which I needed to buy because I didnt own it at the time. By then I remembered another album that I wanted…Living purposefully is something I gotta remind myself if I want this commitment of laying my life down to actually follow through. Great encouragement post, thanks Raulie! Love ya and miss ya man!

Leave a Reply

