Re-Lent

I can honestly say that I have heard about Lent for many years and always dismissed it, even ridiculed it(often) as a religious duty. One with no real Heart or meaning behind it. It was a calendar based event that “in my opinion” meant nothing.

Flickr Photo by rwangsa

This year I have started reading through the bible and find it interesting that God placed so much emphasis on doing things in remembrance. He gave the Israelites songs to sing so that they, and their future generations could remember.

What I find even more interesting is He places things as a reminder to Himself.

Gen 9:14 Whenever I bring clouds over the earth and the rainbow appears in the clouds,15 then I will remember my covenant with you and with all living creatures of all kinds. Never again will the waters become a flood and destroyt all living things.

To me, when I see that God even has a reminder it doesn’t make me feel so bad for having them.

Glenn Packiam wrote an awesome article about lent on his blog, you can read it here He wrote this which really makes a lot of sense.

“One of the benefits of celebrating Lent is that you’ll be fasting along with millions of Christians all around the world at the same time! We talk all the time about wanting the Church to be in unity, but then dismiss traditions as empty ritual. But what if these sacred traditions can be a way for us to walk in unity together?”-Glenn Packiam

I think it is cool to think that I could participate with christians all around the world in remembering Christ. In the post he goes on to explain how the Christian Calendar was made to point us and remind us of the love of Christ.

Before Jesus began his ministry He fasted for forty days and in participating in Lent and fasting for a time, it is a way of connecting with Him and also remembering all that He did for us when he came on this earth.

I am excited to begin tomorrow on Ash Wednesday, a 40 day journey of growing closer to him and remembering daily his sacrifice for me and you.

As Glenn points out in his blog Lent is also about giving to the poor. Allie and I are participating in 40 days of water you can find out about this awesome project here giving up all our drinks and doing only water.

Maybe You would like to join us and Christians all around the world during this time, I say do it! Anything to bring you closer to God is great!

Col3:17 And whatever you do in word or deed, do it all in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through him.

 

2 thoughts on “Re-Lent

Leave a Reply

