Here we go

Do you ever have so many things to do that You just don’t know where to start. For me, when that happens: I think through my list, take it all in, then do something else entirely. It’s crazy I know, but we all need an escape from time to time. I do something else and then look at it with fresh eyes a little later.

You might be saying how in the world would this work? Well maybe it doesn’t… exactly, but it calms me down so I can get back to business. It could be the only reason I don’t get stressed easily. As long as I am working on something else my mind can have a little escape from the madness.

Right now is one of those moments. I have much I need to work on, or could be working on, But instead I am writing. For no other reason but to clear my head. I was on the verge of Anger, Frustration, fear, Anxiety, Carelessness, Giving up, Lashing out… at myself and others! Mainly myself! So, Here goes…

I have been sitting on this post all week. Honestly I need it now more than most days!

Do you ever feel like you are alone! You are the only one that cares, You are the only one working, You are the only one giving! You are the only one that gives a … well you get the idea.

Well It is all a lie! Mostly. Let me first say this. If it didn’t matter so much to you it wouldn’t hurt so much when things don’t work out the way you think they should. If it didn’t matter to you, you never would have put all your blood sweat and tears in it to begin with. You put into it expecting to get out of it, as much, if not MORE! Am I right here?

In reality, which is unfortunately where you and I reside 99% of the time(am I off?), Things don’t quite work out the way we expect. I hear this quote often about perseverance.

Most people give up just when they're about to achieve success. They quit on the one yard line. They give up at the last minute of the game one foot from a winning touchdown.
 Ross Perot

It is true isn’t it! We often give up too soon. We forget the purpose we set out on fire with. We forget the person that we are valuing. We forget that behind every success is hard work. We can say the words hard work and think “Yep, I am in”. But when it comes time to get our hands dirty we start to think, “This is definitely NOT what I signed up for”.

We see little victories and think the War is over when the battle was barely won, and the rest of the army is waiting to swerve us off track and take us out of the fight! Can you relate? It takes us off guard when it never really should.

Sometimes we just need a reminder that we are not alone! Sometimes we just need someone to fan the flame and remind us of the purpose! Sometimes we just need a good kick in the pants to get back on the right track!

I love the story of the prophet Elijah In 1 Kings 19(seriously, read it). He is afraid and runs away. I know that I feel the way he does at times.  Here is what He tells God

10 He answered, “I have been absolutely loyal to the Lord, the sovereign God, even though the Israelites have abandoned the agreement they made with you, torn down your altars, and killed your prophets with the sword. I alone am left and now they want to take my life.”

This all comes after God Uses him(1 Kings 18) to show God’s power and destroy the prophets of Baal, bring Rain, and then gives him supernatural power to run faster than a horse!

This is a man who knows God and still gets caught up and forgets the power of God to deliver him. God tells him that there are 7000 that still serve the Lord. Elijah adamantly believed He was alone, But the truth is there was 7000 right by his side in allegiance to the Lord.

Do you feel alone today? God wants you to know he has you, and you are not alone. Do you remember the passion you had to serve God when you first began? He wants to remind you Your purpose and rekindle the flame that has dwindled. Not only that but God has more for you! It wasn’t just the things in the past that matter, He has something for you to do today.

If you begin to grow weary in serving, Then remember the one Whom You serve! As Your passion for him grows, your frustration turns to compassion, Your fear turns into boldness, Your bitterness turns into excitement.

ohh and the next time we start crying about “it’s not fair” let’s remember all that God did for us when He sent Jesus, and all that He had to endure that wasn’t fair… even death on a cross for my sin!.

Sometimes it’s all a matter of perspective! Change the lens I look through and the the picture looks so much different.

I can feel the change already, what about You!

Leave a Reply

