Diaper Day

Wow! It has been awhile since I have wrote on here. Time is so valuable, but I thought this was worth it.

I woke up today knowing that it was going to be me and both my babies today… all day! Allie has to work, so I am watching those little stinkers all day. I have been excited all week. Not for the crying and constant attentiveness, just for those cute little smiles and giggles. I don’t get this much time with them often. I am either at school, or work, or hospital rotations.

Let me run you a little through my day. I woke up and played a little with the two of them wishing it wasn’t before 9 am that I had to get up and start working. I say working because taking care of my kids is so much work. It is very rewarding, but like I said earlier you need to keep your eyes open, ears ready, and that baby girl out of the dog food (I failed twice already) Why does she love to eat dog food! Allie may be at work today but honestly it will probably be a break for her. She stays home everyday and tirelessly takes care of our baby kids. She doesn’t get breaks usually, and there is no “Quitting time”. I do not envy her, BUT I am so appreciative and respect what she does. If you are a mom you are truly a superhero.

So then I made breakfast because Julian was asking for “Breapust”. Hey I’m getting good at speaking toddler! We ate some eggs and I fed the baby girl. Then She sat and played with pretty much the coolest baby toy you can imagine… The cord to the coffee pot… whatever, she loved it (unplugged of course)… whilst I did the dishes and Beanie watched a show. We came in the living room and watched and played with toys for a while. Then came the dreaded time, feared by all men everywhere… diaper time. It just never ends!! You think you know, but you have no idea. I managed my way through it and got them both dressed and then Sissy was crying and Beanie was asking for “breapust” again. Being the troubleshooting aficionado that I am, I concluded that they were hungry (I know You are impressed aren’t you) hey they can’t teach this stuff in school people!  So I made some celery and PB. So like any kid would do (and adult for that matter), he licked off all the peanut butter and left the rabbit food for the rabbits. I made him eat some celery. I don’t know why it just seemed like the right thing to do. I fed sissy, gave her an Albuterol updraft, Then it’s diaper time… again! We went down on the basement because Julian was carrying his drum sticks around all day in anticipation. So while he banged on his drum kit I played with sissy on the floor.

Before long we were listening to music, singing, dancing, I was pushing them in cars. Then it happened. In the middle of 2 PA Speakers blarring obnoxiously loud music, Lexi fell asleep in my arms… (only my child!) So we went upstairs and put her down for a nap. Then Julian said to me “Monster TRUCK??!!??”  So I pulled up some Monster Jam videos on Youtube. He was loving it (hey who doesn’t), as he always does! After a while he fell asleep and I put him in his bed.

I know that they are about to wake up and then the chaos ensues. As much energy as they take, It is pretty much the best way to spend a saturday. They had tons of fun and so did I. There were tears, joy, crying and laughing. They are babies it all happens!  It is amazing to think that Lexi is almost 1yo, She keeps saying new words and will be walking so soon. They are growing up as fast as people tell me they will. I am glad I had the chance to just be with them today. Ever since Julian was a month old I would come in and sit in front of him and ask him how his day was and what he did. It is so cool to see him sit and think about it now and then give me an answer. He’s a big boy. If you read this whole thing looking for some insight at the end I don’t have it. As a parent I don’t know squat. I am learning as I go. I learn everyday. What I do have have is a sense of appreciation. Appreciate the little time you have. Appreciate the people you love. Appreciate your wife! Don’t get mad about what you don’t have, Make what you do have count.

Alright enough sentimental stuff, Im gonna get some “Breapust” im hungry!

 

Leave a Reply

